Home

Documentation

Getting started

You need an account to use Taskenizer. Click the `register' button on the main page.

Once you've made your account and logged in, you will see a page full of example data to play with. Once you are comfortable with Taskenizer you will delete these categories and make your own categories and pages. You have two `Notes' categories and an `Auto-habits' category. Try adding a note by typing some text in the text-box and pressing enter, or clicking the `add new' button.

Now highlight a note by selecting it using the tick box beside it and choosing a colour with the "highlight" dropdown.

Deferred notes

Taskenizer has a feature for deferring tasks. Go to the `Deferred' page. You'll see you don't have any deferred tasks yet. Go back to your `Main' page. Now we will play out a scenario.

You decide you need to phone your friend. So you make a note in your TODO notes reminding you to do this. Do that now.

Then you realise your friend is on holiday until two weeks hence. You don't want this task cluttering your TODO list for two weeks when you can't do it, so you will defer it. Select the note using the check-box next to it, and click `defer'. Now enter a date in the future and press enter or click `defer' to finish. Now you will see that the task has disappeared from your TODO list.

You can see your deferred tasks using the `Deferred' page. The items are sorted based on how soon they are scheduled.

Auto-habits

Habits are for keeping track of tasks that are done periodically. For example: have your watch serviced every 2 years, do some push-ups every three days, check your vehicle's tyre pressures every two weeks, test fire alarm every month. Basically habits generate a TODO list of things that are due to be done. They will stay on the list until you mark them "done", and then they will disappear for the configured time interval.

Go to the `Configuration' page and create an `Auto-habits' category in the `Categories' section. Add it to a page using the `Pages' section. Now go back to your page and see the Auto-habits category there. Now click the `add auto-habit' button, and create a habit. The first box is what you will do, e.g. `Check the fire alarm works', the rest should be self explanatory. You can see auto-habits that are not due on the `Auto-habits' page.

Manual-habits

Manual-habits are much like Auto-habits except instead of happening after a certain amount of time they happen after a certain number of `Advances'. An advance happens when you click an `Advance' button. An advance can be anything you want. The most simple use would be for an Advance to represent the start of a working day. Another example would be: imagine you have a motorcycle which you service yourself, and it has a complex service schedule, some things happening every time the service light comes on, other things happening every other service or every fourth service. Manual-habits are excellent for this. Click the `Advance' button every time the service light comes on. If something is due to be done every service you make it be done every 1 advances, every fourth service every 4 advances etc.

Biscuits

Biscuits are basically a place to dump random notes that you don't want to lose. They are ordered by date. They can be multi-line. You can enable biscuits on the configuration page, a check-box near the bottom. The biscuits can be added using a text box at the top of every page or by going to the biscuits page.

Sharing categories

You can share a category by going to the configuration page and clicking the `share' button next to a category. You will then be asked for the username of the person you want to share with, your passphrase and their passphrase. Their passphrase is needed so that the category can be cryptographically linked to their account. If they are not around to enter their passphrase, you can tick the box to say so, in which case an unprotected copy of the category key will be stored in the server's memory for upto 25 hours until they next use their account, at which point it will be cryptographically linked.

Once you have shared a category with another user, they can go to their `configuration' page and add it to a page.

If you no longer want to share a category with another user, you cannot simply revoke their access. But you can make an un-shared copy of the category with the following procedure: Remove the category from any pages that are displaying it. Make a copy of the category using the `copy' button. Then revoke your own access to the first category using the `revoke own access' button. You now have your own private copy of the category, which is not shared with them.

If you just want to give another user a copy of your category, just make a copy of it first, then share it, then revoke your own access to it.

Random info

How habits are sorted

Habits are sorted by how long it is until they will be overdue by double.

So if you have a backlog you know that the items at the top of the list are the most urgent.

A note on categories

A single category can be displayed on multiple pages.

Security

Please see the security page.